I’m back!

It’s been too long. I have nooo excuses other than the fact that so much has happened and changed and it’s finally all settling down. To recap- two very close people in my life got married, I got to play harp in Capital Cities’ new music video “Kangaroo Court” (check it out here) and I’m officially a grad student at USC! So that’s nice, because I’ve felt like one for the past 4 years so now my life finally makes sense. Let’s be real, I never experienced college like most people did. For heaven’s sake, I have a blog about PLANTS. Welllll it’s more than plants, and sustainability is what I’m passionate about, so what gives, right?

A lot has changed over in my little apartment. The decor, for one. Here’s some of my most recent pictures:

www.ecospired.com

my place!

another blurry image of my place!

I’m not sure if I ever showed you before pictures. I’m not brave enough yet. One day I’ll gather up the courage.

Here are some more pictures of what I’ve been up to.

my sea glass chandelier at night.

my sea glass chandelier at night.

I put an exposed filament light bulb in my sea glass chandelier that I made. My tutorial is here and I seriously suggest you do this project. It’s so stunning during the day and night, and it’s totally doable.

manzanita branch!

manzanita branch!

An orchid from LA’s flower district.

The above tree branch is a Manzanita branch. This is one that hasn’t been sand-blasted– the ones you see as decorations are sand-blasted, which gives them their light color. I personally loooove the natural smooth texture and red color of the manzanita, so I bought one that wasn’t sanded. I got it from the Los Angeles Flower District  for $10! It comes assembled with a wooden box at its base. I personally wanted to hang my jewelry off of it, but you could just use it as a decoration or hang little jars with LED (battery-powered) candles inside it (I wouldn’t suggest real candles because it turns out, wood is flammable. Weird.) I also got the orchid at the flower district. I totally suggest going one morning if you’re local! I went with a friend of mine and we had a great time. The flowers are reasonably cheap and you can find any type of manzanita branch imaginable (think- pink glitter…). I wasn’t very impressed by their succulent collection, but they have a lot of great cut flowers.

This is what’s been happening on the balcony:

www.ecospired.com

Getting up close and personal with some dill…

Trader Joes’ herbs! I totally suggest buying them. Only $2.50 and healthy. Love it.

IMG_0069

IMG_0064

Malabar Spinach! I bought it from my local farmers’ market.

IMG_0094

IMG_2939

I love farmers’ markets.

These are some of the things I love. What about you? What do you get to make your place “home”?

-D

PS: I almost forgot! I harvested my worm compost. It is messy. And gross. It is definitely not for the faint-hearted or for the easily-grossed-out-type. BUT once you get over the fact that you’re touching worms and their sht, it’s great! My plants are so happy with their compost! And I started another vermicompost.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “I’m back!

  1. K Najarian says:

    Really enjoy the pictures and info. Great job! Also loved the music video 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Yay for friends who go to the flower district! And I love the manzanita branch.

  3. Melanie says:

    So beautiful!! I especially love the sea glass chandeliers, hmm wonder why 😉 My home “musts” are Pink Magnolia candles (lots. I buy them all out when I see them at Target), wicker baskets, succulents, and photos of family and friends in funky frames.

  4. Welcome back! And WOW for all the projects around the apartment 🙂

  5. Jian says:

    Love this! Do you have a tutorial on how to wire in the bulb?

    • Ecospired says:

      Thanks so much! Do you mean how to wire the bulb for the outdoor sea glass chandelier? For that one, I honestly just wrapped wire around the glass jar (the part where the lid would twist off), and then attached it on 2 sides and let the jar evenly hang. As for the sea glass chandelier indoors (with the light bulb itself), it’s not actually attached to the chandelier! It is a free hanging cord/light bulb that hangs from the ceiling. Check out my tutorial at http://ecospired.com/2013/07/01/diy-sea-glass-chandelier/ for the full tutorial 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

comment here!

