Books and Coasters

I went to Santa Barbara this weekend, to hear the Music Academy of the West musicians perform on Saturday night. If you’re around Southern California and need an excuse to go to a beautiful place and be inspired, you should seriously hear one of their concerts. Check out their website for more info! I’ve played harp at this festival in past years and I’m so nostalgic for that place. I love it.

Anyway, I also went to hang out with friends who are working and playing there, and it was a ton of fun. I hit up my favorite Goodwill thrift store there too, and shopped in downtown on State st.

Me and a friend stumbled upon a used book store in the cute little town where the musicians stay (Carpinteria). We went in and bought used books for $2 each! Books aren’t necessarily the most environmentally friendly things ever, but I don’t think they use quite as much paper or trees as you’d think. But buying used is still better.  I love reading hard copies of books and having them around, and buying used ensures less paper production, and is a great way to justify buying superficial & trashy books without feeling guilty about the paper or the price tag.

Image

Anyway, I have an overhanging planter that’s filled with basil. Basil is a really easy herb to grow. It’s perfect for those starting out doing urban gardening or gardening in general. Basil doesn’t require a lot of space and it grows ferociously, so you’ll gain the confidence of thinking that your thumb turned from black to green. 😉 So with that said, I made vegan pesto last night! Here are some pictures of da babies.

IMG_2576

IMG_2577

Of course, no picture of food is complete without a mason jar.

I got the pesto recipe from this really awesome book called The Best Veggie Burgers on the Planet. Try it out!

Simple Pesto (recipe adapted from The Best Veggie Burgers on the Planet by Joni Marie Newman)

Ingredients:

  • 14 large fresh basil leaves (No need for precision here)
  • 2 or 3 cloves of garlic (I wouldn’t use that much garlic though!)
  • 1/2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon toasted pine nuts
  • 1 tablespoon raw walnut pieces
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 3 tablespoons of olive oil

I just combine all of the ingredients in a blender. The author suggests blending all of the ingredients in a food processor except for the olive oil and then pulsing it a few more times at the end with the oil.

This should all give you about 1/2 a cup of pesto. It’s soooo good!

And lastly, here’s a new upcycling idea–I used a clay plant saucer as a coaster! I LOVE IT. It’s so simple, cheap, (environmentally friendly) & the perfect size for drinks. You can take the ones from your pots (as I did) or buy them at a hardware store. You can paint them too, but I like the clean and traditional look of the plant saucers without paint.

IMG_2589

IMG_2585

I painted this mug at Color Me Mine years ago, with one of my closest childhood friends. I know it looks like I was 5 when I painted it, but I was more like, 18 years old. No judging

IMG_2587

And here’s another look at my water. It looks more like a fruit bowl at this point…

I should mention that I gave up Diet Coke in December, which is a miracle for me that I’ve been able to last this long. That sht is unhealthy and my addiction was using up a lot of plastic and aluminum, recycled or not. So now, I’m trying to have fun drinking water, which is really only fun when you put plants in it, and take pictures of it.

-d

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Books and Coasters

  1. Genoa says:

    I have some advice for breaking your coke habit! (hah) Get a soda stream and then spike your fizzy water with fruit and juices instead. I’m totally addicted to fizzy water with a little bit of lemonade in it.

    • Ecospired says:

      That’s such a good idea! The fizziness is a huge part of what’s so amazing about diet coke. So sad that I spend so much time thinking about it… haha.

  2. I love you so much!! please come visit out in DC?! you’d have your own rooooom 🙂 ha! miss you girl.

    • Ecospired says:

      OMG. Okay I read about you getting rent for your 3 bdrm covered in exchange for nannying. WHAT A DEAL!!! So happy for you! And yes, I love that mug. I think of you every time I use it!!

comment here!

