Anthropologie Goes Camping

Wouldn’t camping be SOO cute and dainty if we could do it the Anthropologie way?

Check out Anthropologie’s Camping section on their website for a good laugh!

As much as I love Anthropologie and am inspired by them daily, this is so Anthro of them to suggest that we should buy their frivolous camping supplies for our next trip. Btch please, there are bears and mountain lions and raccoons and who knows what else that aren’t hindered by your white “Sumatra Cabana” or its lofty price of  $698.00. The freezing temperatures of the mountains and the dirt all around the campground are also not hindered by your beige, thin “Florabunda Sleeping Bag” for $188.00.   Here’s what they have to say about their sleeping bag:

“Love the outdoors, but can’t fathom the idea of leaving the creature comforts behind? Why not camp out in style? Designed with the glamper (or glamorous camper) in mind, this hot-house inspired bedroll is fully reversible and dyed by hand.”

Oh JOY! Good thing it’s reversible! I wouldn’t want to sleep in a tent without my floral-printed, dyed-by-hand linens!

Anthropologie's Sumatra Cabana

Anthropologie’s Sumatra Cabana

Anthropologie’s Florabunda Sleeping Bag

(Does anyone else notice the missing polka dot on the sleeping bag?)

I realize that Anthropologie’s probably not actually serious about this… but come ON! Camping is just NOT a pretty activity. Don’t get me wrong, I’m truly in love with camping (and it’s a huge reason of why I chose to study the environment in the first place) but I digress.

This is quite possibly my favorite item listed in their camping section:

Anthros balls

Anthropologie’s Bocce Ball Set

You could buy these lovely balls for camping for a whopping $320.00. WHAT THE HELL?

This is just another example of Anthro’s frivolity and ridiculous prices.

…but I will always love Anthropologie.

What do you think? Are you a “glamper”?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Anthropologie Goes Camping

  1. I couldn’t resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  2. […] much as I love poking fun at Anthro (clearly), I still love them. Kinda like when you’re crushing on someone but instead of admitting it, […]

  3. […] the ecospiration (how’s that for a new word?) but seriously Anthro… after your “Glamping” debacle, you’re taking this too far! Still love you guys, […]

  4. I needed to thank you for this great read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it.

    I’ve got you book-marked to look at new stuff you post…

  5. When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time
    a comment is added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment.
    Is there a means you are able to remove me from that
    service? Many thanks!

  6. Appreciating the dedication you put into your website and detailed information you provide.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  7. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always exciting to read articles from other writers
    and practice something from their sites.

  8. Thank you for some other wonderful article. Where else may
    anyone get that type of info in such a perfect means of writing?
    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the look for such info.

  9. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you could be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark
    your blog and may come back in the foreseeable future.

    I want to encourage you to continue your great writing, have a nice afternoon!

  10. twitter.com says:

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However
    I am experiencing problems with your RSS. I don’t understand
    the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting identical RSS issues?
    Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  11. It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before end
    I am reading this enormous article to improve my knowledge.

  12. Glamping vitriol aside you are wrongly crediting the Florabunda sleeping bag to Anthropologie. It is my design which was procured by a member of their staff and cheaply (in all senses of the word) copied. When challenged they withdrew it from sale. So your blog is both out of date and giving wrong information. My bags are hand made from top quality materials…they are intended for summer use outdoors ONLY when weather permits and have versatile use as a quilt indoors ALL YEAR ROUND. My Etsy shop is called Good Intent should you wish to view the real thing or contact me. Please get your facts right. Thank you.

comment here!

