Decorating the Apartment. With Difficulty.

My little 2 bedroom, 2 bath rental in LA needs some work. Okay…. maybe a little more work than I’m letting on. One day I will be brave enough to show you a picture. My good friend and I live on the top floor of an apartment building in a very cute neighborhood…but–it’s difficult to decorate a rental. You know it only yours for tiny bit and there’s really only so much you can do, right? And obviously, it’s a lot more challenging to decorate on a student budget!

source: radicalpossibility.com

source: radicalpossibility.com

Let me describe my apartment to you. When you walk into the kitchen and family room, we have white walls, with white tile, with off-white cabinetry and white appliances. We have 3 off-white leather sectionals (the roommates’) and a white bookshelf. Oh–and white vertical blinds. CAN YOU IMAGINE HOW HIDEOUS THAT IS? That’s some serious drab sht right there. It needs serious help. In fact, when I was inquiring about renting this place, the manager at the time said: “I mean, I don’t think you’re going to want to rent this place if you like to spend a lot of time at home.” Whoops.

So a lot of what I’ll talk about is making my apartment truly a reflection of my life (and my roommate’s life too)!  This is difficult to do when you and your roommate bring your own furniture and have your own tastes.  Luckily, my roommate is easy-going about these things (she hasn’t yelled at me for having 30 potted plants in our apartment yet so I think we’re good).  I firmly believe that you should always make your place perfect for you.  Not in a Pottery barn kind of way, but just… you. I have so many weird things around my apartment that I’ve wondered if I should just hide when I have visitors but then I realized- who really cares? We shouldn’t have to justify our choices, in anything, really. Here are a couple of pictures of some embarrassing frames that I own:

Happiness is still Homemade. And embroidered, apparently.

IMG_2357

(That’s some serious embroidery, huh?)

So there! I absolutely love thrift and antique stores. I love upcycling. I refuse to buy anything at Anthropologie for full price even though I think they have some seriously good sht. Sorry bout it.

And. Ladies– we gotta get more comfortable with shopping at Home Depot. And using hammers, and screwdrivers, and tools other than the ones that come in our makeup bags. Like– if I step in Home Depot one more time and have one more dude worker ask me quizzically if I’m lost, I’m going to scream that REAL WOMEN SHOP AT HOME DEPOT, because I mean it.

Alright, getting back on track.  I also want to make my place look refined and ME. And as you’ve probably figured out, I wanna be ECOSPIRED babes!

What have you done to make your place “you”? Comment below and let’s talk!

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Decorating the Apartment. With Difficulty.

  1. […] Decorating the Apartment. With Difficulty. […]

comment here!

