Annnnd Another Terrarium

Sooo.. on this beautiful Saturday afternoon, I decided to make another terrarium. This time, I wanted to experiment with mosses and lichens. I’m prettttty sure that what I used included lichens, too. I bought this bag of “moss” at JoAnns, but I’m just not sure. Does anyone really know the difference by looking?

Check out my other terrarium tutorial for more info about how to assemble it. But seriously, it’s so freaking easy, I trust that you won’t mess it up. 😉

So here are the materials I used (except I forgot to include the soil, which isn’t actually 100% necessary):

Image

Here’s a really janky picture of the selection of mosses at JoAnn (does anyone else think it sounds stupid as JoAnn Fabrics? like it should definitely be “JoAnns” and everyone says JoAnns anyway. Kind of like “Nordstrom” vs “Nordstroms”…) BTW- download the JoAnn app for your phone and you can get all the deals there. I got the moss for like 3 bucks (I felt like an ass taking 40% off the one item I was buying at the store, but whatevssss). I learned the app tip from the blog www.radicalpossibility.com which by the way, is HYSTERICAL so you should definitely read it. I want to be friends with her like… sooo bad.

IMG_2294

 

And this is the one I specifically got:

IMG_2335Soooo- put the activated charcoal first (or gravel first), then the gravel, then the soil, then the moss. Add water and BOOM– you’re done.

IMG_2334

Make sure not to put these babies in direct sunlight or you will have fried moss and I’m pretty they’re not edible soooo what a waste hmm?

Send me photos if you’ve made one too!

-Daria

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Annnnd Another Terrarium

  1. that is super awesome, never seen a ‘terrarium’ before! might have to give this one a go

  2. This looks like a great project, and I really like your layout!

comment here!

